Toni Schneiders

Toni Schneiders (13th May 1920 – 4th August 2006) is one of the most significant pot war German photographers. In 1949, Lütperts founded the group Fotoform, in partnership with Peter Keetman, Siegfried Lauterwasser, Wolfang Reisewitz, Otto Steinert and Ludwig Windstosser. The group was a loosely organised collective of experimental photographers which would play a prominent role in the post war European Art photography scene.

Following the Nazi barbarity the photographers searched for new ways to aesthetically and formally express themselves.

The artistic movement of subjective photography, which was founded by the photographers of the group Fotoforum, is characterized by their member’s interest in formal abstraction and graphic structures under the emerging influence of pictorealism. From today’s perspective, subjective photography was one of the most important contributions to the medium after 1945. The photographers of subjective photography did not strive to record reality in an objective way, but rather wanted to interpret it on a personal and psychological level. The group successfully broke with the traditional movements of their time, thus creating a new dynamic in the art photography scene.

Since the beginning of the 1950’s, Schneider worked as an independent photographer who focused on the form and content of photography. With his camera he was taking pictures, from melancholically sober to poetical, of landscapes, architecture and industrial sites. Schneiders also worked for publishers and magazines such as Merian. From the end of the 1950’s Schneiders documented his endless travels to the different European countries as well as his journeys further abroad to Ethiopia, Japan and South-East Asia. His curiosity for “the things out there” is evident in his work.

In 1999 Schneiders, together with Sigfried Lauterwasser and Wolfgang Reisewitz, received the Kulturpreis der deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie (the cultural award of the German Society for Photography). For his 85th anniversary his work was exhibited 2006 in two large museum exhibitions in the Landesmuseum Koblenz and the Städtischen Kunstmuseum Singen.

Together with the photographer’s daughter, Ulrike Schneider, the artistic work of Toni Schneider was showcased in numerous group exhibitions of Bernheimer Fine Art Photography, latest a solo exhibition in Lucerne as well in art fairs such as the Paris Photo, Frieze Masters and Masterpiece.

Exhibitions

28 February 201518 April 2015

Selected Works

Toni Schneiders

Toni Schneiders (* 13. Mai 1920 in Urbar; †4. August 2006 in Lindau) ist einer der bedeutendsten deutschen Photographen nach 1945.

In Kooperation mit Peter Keetman, Siegfried Lauterwasser, Wolfgang Reisewitz, Otto Steinert und Ludwig Windstosser gründete Schneiders im Jahr 1949 die Gruppe fotoform. Diese Gruppe war eine lose Organisation von experimentierenden Photographen, welche eine herausragende Rolle in der Kunstphotographie der Nachkriegszeit in Europa einnahm. Formal wie ästhetisch versuchten sie nach der kulturellen Barbarei der Nazi-Zeit einen neuen Weg zu finden.

Die künstlerische Bewegung der Subjektiven Photographie der Gruppe fotoform ist charakterisiert durch formale Abstraktion und graphische Struktur unter dem Einfluss des Piktorialismus. Aus heutiger Sicht ist dies einer der wichtigsten Beiträge zur Erneuerung der Photographie nach 1945. Es ist nicht die objektive Wiedergabe der Realität, welches die Subjektive Photographie anstrebt, sondern die persönliche Interpretation durch subjektive, surreale Ideen. Die Gruppe hat erfolgreich mit den konventionellen und traditionellen Formen der Photographie ihrer Zeit gebrochen und stieß somit eine neue Bewegung der Kunstphotographie an.

Seit Beginn der 1950er Jahre arbeitete Schneiders als freischaffender Photograph mit Augenmerk auf die Kombination aus Form und Inhalt. Mit seiner Kamera hielt er Motive aus den Bereichen der Kunst, Architektur, Landschaft und Industrie in verschiedenen Stimmungen fest - poetisch, melancholisch oder nüchtern. Schneiders photographierte unter anderem für Bücher und Magazine, beispielsweise für den Merian. Ab Ende der 50er Jahre dokumentierte Toni Schneiders seine endlosen Reisen, die ihn in diverse europäische und außereuropäische Länder wie Äthiopien, Japan und Südostasien brachten und hielt diese mit seiner Kamera fest. In diesen Arbeiten spiegelt sich seine Neugierde „für die Dinge da draußen”.

Im Jahre 1999 erhielt Schneiders gemeinsam mit Siegfried Lauterwasser und Wolfgang Reisewitz den Kulturpreis der deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie. Anlässlich seines 85. Geburtstages im Jahr 2006 wurde er mit zwei großen Museumsausstellungen im Landesmuseum Koblenz und im Städtischen Kunstmuseum Singen geehrt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Ulrike Schneiders, Tochter des Photographen, wurden die künstlerischen Werke Toni Schneiders von Bernheimer Fine Art Photography in Gruppenausstellungen sowie auf Messen wie Paris Photo, Frieze Masters oder Masterpiece präsentiert.

Exhibitions

28 Februar 201518 April 2015

Selected Works