Silke Lauffs

Silke Lauffs was born in 1969 in Hanau and studied interior design at the Kunst und Design Schule of Hannover.  Whilst she was studying during the early 90s she began to teach herself photography. After working for some time as an interior designer in New York, she moved back to Germany in 1997 where she worked as a photographer on landscape, still life, fashion and portrait assignments for numerous magazines. Since 2000 she has become renowned as a photographer with solo exhibitions in Germany and other European countries. Silke Lauffs currently lives as an independent photographer in Berlin.

From her travels to India (2002) and Myanmar (2008), Silke Lauffs has created a poetical body of work exploring these exotic places, landscapes and sanctuary sites. Her pictures are reminiscent of long forgotten times. It is as if we could sense the ancient inhabitant’s feelings - their joys and sorrows. “This is the atmosphere that I wanted to capture - these rare timeless yet evanescent moments”. The photographs from Silke Lauffs’ India and Myanmar travels are not intended to be records of these countries daily life. They are impressions of a journey, taken in early hour emptiness, of these otherwise vivid and populous lands. The pale morning light fascinates the photographer and is intrinsic to the distinctive mysteriousness of her imagery, aided by her use of a panoramic camera for her photographs. Long exposure times create a slight mistiness in her black and white negatives that she later enlarges and adds sepia tones. Her photographic process results in breathtaking prints of tremendous depth. Her photographs are available as classical silver-gelatine prints or as platinum prints.

Between 2005 and 2007 Silke Lauffs created an impressive series that was commissioned by Bernheimer and the Schloss Fuschl Collection for which she choose to photograph the landscape of the Salzkammergut. It focuses on the passage of seasons in the untouched nature of Salzburg’s surroundings, lake Fuschelsee and the adjacent mountains.

Bernheimer Fine Art Photography represents Silke Lauffs. Her 2004 single exhibition was followed by two further single exhibitions in 2006 and 2009 and by numerous group exhibitions. The artist has also been successfully showcased at art fairs such as the Paris Photo.

Exhibitions

25 June 20157 August 2015
14 February 20143 May 2014
6 December 20138 February 2014
14 November 201317 November 2013
20 September 201331 October 2013

Selected Works

Silke Lauffs

Die im Jahre 1969 in Hanau geborene Photographin Silke Lauffs studierte an der Kunst und Design Schule in Hannover und diplomierte im Fach Innenarchitektur. Anfang der 90er Jahre,während ihres Design- und Kunststudiums in Hamburg, begann Silke Lauffs sich autodidaktisch mit der Photographie auseinanderzusetzen. Nachdem sie einige Jahre in New York als Innenarchitektin gearbeitet hatte, zog sie 1997 zurück nach Deutschland. In den Bereichen Landschaft, Stills, Portrait und Mode photographiert sie für zahlreiche Zeitschriften und Magazine.

 Seit 2000 hat sie mit Einzelausstellungen ihrer Kunstphotographie in Deutschland und Europa großes Ansehen erlangt. Silke Lauffs lebt als freie Photographin in Berlin.

Auf ihren Reisen nach Indien im Jahr 2002 und Myanmar im Jahr 2008 photographierte Silke Lauffs auf wunderbar poetische Weise die Heiligtümer und verwunschenen Landschaften dieser fernen Welten. Ihre Bilder wirken wie Dokumente aus der Vorzeit.An diesen Stätten fühlen wir die Freude und das Leid der Menschen vergangener Zeiten. „Es ist diese Atmosphäre, die ich festhalten will, diese seltenen Momente - faszinierend und tragisch, zeitlos und vergänglich.” Die Photographien von Silke Lauffs aus Indien und Myanmar sollen keine Dokumentation des Lebens in Indien sein. Es sind Reiseeindrücke, die das sonst so lebendige, bevölkerungsreiche Land, in menschenleereren Morgenstunden zeigt. Besonders das fahle Morgenlicht ist das, was die Photographin fasziniert, welches ihren Panoramabildern einen unverwechselbaren, fast mystischen Ausdruck gibt.Für ihre Aufnahmen benutzt Lauffs eine Panoramakamera. Die langen Belichtungszeiten verursachen eine leichte Unschärfe. Sie photographiert in schwarz-weiß und tönt die händisch gefertigten Silbergelatineabzüge anschließend in Sepia. Das Ergebnis sind atemberaubende Abzüge von unvergesslicher Tiefenwirkung und zeitloser Ästhetik. Neben dem klassischen Gelatine Silver Print, sind einige ihrer Werke auch im Platinum Druck erhältlich.

Zwischen 2005 und 2007 realisierte Silke Lauffs im Auftrag der Galerie Bernheimer und der Schloss Fuschl Collection eine imposante Photoserie. Als Thema wählte sie die Landschaften des Salzkammerguts, die sie im Wechsel der Jahreszeiten photographierte. Anlehnend an ihre Serie India gelang es ihr, die unverbrauchte Natur der wunderbaren Umgebung von Salzburg, dem Fuschlsee, den umliegenden Berglandschaften und Seen des Salzkammergutes festzuhalten.

Silke Lauffs wird von Bernheimer Fine Art Photography repräsentiert. Nach der Erstausstellung im Jahr 2004, folgten weitere Einzelausstellungen in den Jahren 2006 und 2009 sowie zahlreiche Gruppenaussellungen. Die Künstlerin wird ebenfalls auf Messen wie der Paris Photo präsentiert.

Exhibitions

25 Juni 20157 August 2015
14 Februar 20143 Mai 2014
6 Dezember 20138 Februar 2014
14 November 201317 November 2013
20 September 201331 Oktober 2013

Selected Works