Jeanloup Sieff

During the mid 50’s Jeanloup Sieff (1933 - 2000) worked as an independent journalist and fashion photographer for Elle in Paris. In 1961 he moved to New York where he worked and lived until 1966, when he returned to Paris. There, he made a career as a fashion, portrait and nude photographer with assignments by numerous important magazines such as Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, Pars, Glamour, Esquire, Look and Twen.

Sieff created images that shaped the vision of generations and are icons in the history of photography.  Sieff’s portraits of Yves Saint Laurent, Yves Montand and Astrid’s Back are famous examples of the photographer’s style – a mix of romance, melancholy, elegance and irony.  The pictures show his longing for authenticity and beauty in portrait photography and how freedom and pleasure were an intrinsic part of his creative style. Throughout his life Sieff preferred to photograph in black and white.

His photographs are part of important museum collections such as the Centre Pompidou and the Musée de l’art Moderne in Paris. He was appointed as a Chevalier des Art et Lettres in Paris (1981) and was awarded with the Grand Prix National de la Photographie (1992).

Jeanloup Sieff has published several books of his work and exhibited worldwide at renowned museums and art galleries.

In 2010 Bernheimer Fine Art Photography presented a solo show of Jeanloup Sieff. BFAP also exhibited his work at the Paris Photo and Frieze Masters.

Exhibitions

4 October 20178 October 2017
29 June 20175 July 2017
25 January 201729 January 2017
10 November 201613 November 2016
5 October 20169 October 2016
28 January 201631 January 2016
12 November 201515 November 2015
13 October 201518 October 2015
21 May 201524 May 2015
29 January 20151 February 2015
6 December 20138 February 2014
14 November 201317 November 2013
16 October 201320 October 2013
15 November 201218 November 2012

Selected Works

Jeanloup Sieff

Jeanloup Sieff (* 1933 in Paris; † 2000 in Paris) arbeitete Mitte der 50er Jahre in Paris als freischaffender Photojournalist und Modephotograph für das Elle Magazin. Im Jahr 1961 zog der Photograph nach New York, arbeitete und lebte dort bis 1966. Nachdem er nach Paris zurückgekehrt war, photographierte er Mode, Akt und eine Serie Portraits für zahlreiche, bekannte Zeitschriften wie Vogue, Harper`s Bazaar, Paris Match, Glamour, Esquire, Look und Twen.

Jeanloup Sieff schuf Bilder, die ganze Generationen geprägt haben. Bilder, die heute ihren festen Platz in der Photogeschichte haben. Astrids Rückenund die Portraits von Yves Saint Laurent und Yves Montand sind berühmte Beispiele für den Stil des Photographen – eine Mischung aus Eleganz und Humor, Romantik und Melancholie. Die Bilder zeigen seine Suche nach Authentizität in der Portraitphotographie sowie seine Virtuosität in den berückenden Aktaufnahmen. Freiheit und Vergnügen waren bestimmende Faktoren für Sieffs Wirken: das Spiel mit dem Licht und die Freude Räume zu komponieren. Die Schwarz-Weiß-Photographie war zeitlebens sein bevorzugtes Medium.

Seine Arbeiten sind in Sammlungen bedeutender Museen, einschließlich dem Centre Pompidou, Paris und dem Musée de l’Art Moderne, Paris zu sehen. Des Weiteren wurde Sieff zum Chevalier des Arts et Lettres in Paris (1981) ernannt und erhielt die Auszeichnung  Grand Prix National de la Photographie (1992).

Jeanloup Sieff war Autor einiger Photobücher und stellte in renommierten Galerien und Museen weltweit aus.

Im Jahr 2010 fand zum ersten Mal eine Einzelausstellung mit Photographien von Jeanloup Sieff bei Bernheimer Fine Art Photography statt. Des Weiteren wurden seine Photographien bereits in Gruppenausstellungen sowie auf Messen, wie der Paris Photo und Frieze Masters präsentiert.

Exhibitions

4 Oktober 20178 Oktober 2017
29 Juni 20175 Juli 2017
25 Januar 201729 Januar 2017
10 November 201613 November 2016
5 Oktober 20169 Oktober 2016
28 Januar 201631 Januar 2016
12 November 201515 November 2015
13 Oktober 201518 Oktober 2015
21 Mai 201524 Mai 2015
29 Januar 20151 Februar 2015
6 Dezember 20138 Februar 2014
14 November 201317 November 2013
16 Oktober 201320 Oktober 2013
15 November 201218 November 2012

Selected Works