Annie Leibovitz

Annie Leibovitz was born on 2nd October 1949 in Waterbury, Connecticut. Her career began as a student in 1970 when she worked as a photojournalist for Rolling Stone magazine. Her work includes some of the greatest and most famous portraits of our time.

In 1973 Leibovitz became the chief photographer of the Rolling Stone and stayed there for ten years, photographing more than 242 cover pictures and publishing numerous articles. At the beginning of the 80s she switched to Vanity Fair and, as well as becoming a fashion photographer, focused on numerous portraits of celebrities, actors, directors, authors, writers, musicians, athletes, politicians and entrepreneurs, as she later did for Vogue.

Leibovitz is well known for her carefully composed photographs as well as for her celebrated portraits. She possesses the ability to capture the unique personality and convey special, hidden qualities of her sitters, even when they are naked like John Lennon or the pregnant Demi Moore. Her photographs not only capture moments, people and trends in time, but have also become iconic pieces of art in their own right.

Important museums and galleries such as the National Portrait Gallery, London, the Corcoran Gallery, Washington D.C., the International Center of Photography, New York, the Brooklyn Museum, the Stedeijk Museum, Amsterdam, the Maison Européenne de la Photographie, the Hermitage, St. Petersburg and the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, Moscow, have showcased Leibovitz’s work.

Bernheimer Fine Art Photography represents Leibovitz in Germany and successfully exhibits her work at Frieze Masters and the Paris Photo. 

Exhibitions

8 November 201712 November 2017
4 October 20178 October 2017
25 January 201729 January 2017
10 November 201613 November 2016
5 October 20169 October 2016
28 January 201631 January 2016
13 October 201518 October 2015
21 May 201524 May 2015
25 July 201428 July 2014
16 October 201320 October 2013
15 November 201218 November 2012

Selected Works

Annie Leibovitz

Annie Leibovitz wurde am 2. Oktober 1949 in Waterbury, Connecticut geboren. Ihre Karriere begann im Jahr 1970 als Studentin am San Francisco Art Institute, als sie als Photojournalistin für das Magazin Rolling Stone arbeitete. Leibovitz’ großartige und hervorstechende Arbeiten umfassen einige der besten und bekanntesten Portraits unserer Zeit.

Im Jahr 1973 wurde Leibovitz zur Chefphotographin des Rolling Stone Magazins ernannt. Als sie das Magazin zehn Jahre später verließ, hatte sie hundertzweiundvierzig Coverphotos geschossen, unzählige Photoessays veröffentlicht sowie zahlreiche Berichte verfasst. Für das Magazin Vanity Fair, zu dem die PhotographinAnfang der 80er Jahre wechselte, und später für die Vogue produzierte Leibovitz unzählige Portraits bedeutender Persönlichkeiten darunter Schauspieler, Regisseure, Schriftsteller, Musiker, Athleten, Politiker und Unternehmer. Die Photographin widmet sich ferner der Modephotographie, welche ihre kollektiven Portraits der heutigen Zeit erweitert.

Annie Leibovitz ist für ihre aufwendigen Inszenierungen sowie für ihre auszeichnend persönlichen Portraits bekannt. Die Photographin besitzt das Talent, das Besondere der Portraitierten im richtigen Moment mit der Kamera festzuhalten. Selbst unbekleidet behalten die Personen, wie z.B. John Lennon, oder die schwangere Demi Moore, ihre innere und äußere „Haltung“. Der mit der Kamera dokumentierte Moment wird zur Ikone der Photographie und macht Annie Leibovitz’ Bilder so zu einmaligen Kunstwerken.

Museen und Galerien auf der ganzen Welt präsentieren Ausstellungen mit Leibovitz’s Photographien, beispielsweise die National Portrait Gallery und die Corcoran Gallery in Washington D.C., das International Center of Photography in New York, das Brooklyn Museum, das Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam, die Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris, die National Portrait Gallery in London, die Eremitage in St. Petersburg und das Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts in Moskau.

Annie Leibovitz wird in Deutschland von der Galerie Bernheimer Fine Art Photography in vertreten und mit ihren künstlerischen Arbeiten u.a. auf der Frieze Masters und der Paris Photo erfolgreich präsentiert.

Exhibitions

8 November 201712 November 2017
4 Oktober 20178 Oktober 2017
25 Januar 201729 Januar 2017
10 November 201613 November 2016
5 Oktober 20169 Oktober 2016
28 Januar 201631 Januar 2016
13 Oktober 201518 Oktober 2015
21 Mai 201524 Mai 2015
25 Juli 201428 Juli 2014
16 Oktober 201320 Oktober 2013
15 November 201218 November 2012

Selected Works