Veronica Bailey

 Veronica Bailey is a British Fine Art photographer based in London, specialising in visiting archives and producing photographic series with emphasis on conceptual thinking and historical narrative. Her work continues to explore nostalgia for the threatened forms of human communication and knowledge dissemination and the lure of traditional forms of paper and script in an monotonously digitized age. In her photographs Bailey works with everyday life objects, which have been carefully arranged. Books and letters are composed in ways that seem to resemble sculptures of geometrical forms.Sometimes traces of text are visible, but the context of the works remains enigmatic. The viewer has to reflect on the photographs in order to find a personal way of interpreting the works.

Veronica graduated with her Masters from Central St. Martins in 2003. She won a Jerwood Photography Award for the 2 Willow Road Series 2003 featuring the abstract photographs of books from the National Trust library of the modernist architect Ernö Goldfinger and his wife Ursula Blackwell. Postscript series 2005, documents a small but revealing archive of letters and telegrams (1937 ­1945) written by model/muse/photographer Lee Miller during her years as US war correspondent in World War II and British Surrealist artist Roland Penrose (1900-1984) prior to their marriage in 1947. The About Face series accompanied Postscript; drawing attention to inspiring female surrealist artists. Hours of Devotion & Shelf Life series 2007 delves into the Coutts bank staff library on the Strand producing monumental works inspired by 19th century bookbinding and philanthropist Angela Burdett-Coutts (1814-1906). The Limited Time 2009 series of palm trees (Fuji Instax Mini Polaroids) is a brief departure from large scale photography but Bailey returns in 2010 with the Modern Myths series featuring newspapers, highlighting the visual language between human nature, war, money and power in the media. 2012 showcases a unique photographic text series Hermes Baby 2011 which experiments with traditional black and white film and darkroom processes along with the journalism of the Americian war correspondent Marguerite Higgins (1920-1966) who worked for The New York Herald Tribune. 

Solo shows in UK and internationally USA, Korea, Canada, Germany. Press features include Portfolio, Art Forum, Hotshoe International, Eye, Guardian, FT. Postscript is represented in the Victoria & Albert Museum London and other UK and International Collections. Art and Photography Fairs in London, Paris, Seoul, Munich, Toronto, New York, Miami, Los Angeles.

Veronica is an Ambassador for the photographic charity Photovoice since 2009 and also regularly supports other charities and trusts through her art: Room to Read, Merlin, Laurence Sterne Trust, Cancer Research, LACE.

Exhibitions

9 February 201713 April 2017
25 June 20157 August 2015
29 November 20147 February 2015
6 December 20138 February 2014
28 November 201325 January 2014
15 November 201218 November 2012

Selected Works

Veronica Bailey

Veronica Bailey ist britische Photographin aus London. Sie ist Spezialistin für Photoserien, welche überwiegend in Archiven entstehen. Ihre Arbeiten widerspiegeln Ihre konzeptuelle Herangehensweise und historische Narration. Im Zentrum Ihrer Arbeit steht neben der Erforschung einer nostalgischen, traditionellen Wissensverbreitung auch der Reiz der Niederschrift und des Papiers im monotonen digitalen Zeitalter. 

In ihren Werken arbeitet Bailey mit Alltagsgegenständen, die sie sorgsam arrangiert. In ihren Werken sind Bücher und Briefe zu erkennen, die scheinbar geometrische Skulpturen ergeben. Teilweise fügt Bailey in ihre Arbeiten Textspuren ein, allerdings bleibt eine Kontextualisierung der Arbeiten grundsätzlich aus. Der Betrachter muss sich auf die Photographien einlassen, um eine persönliche Interpretation zu finden.

Veronica schloss mit einem Master am Central St. Martins College im Jahre 2003 ab. Sie gewann den Jerwood Photography Award für ihre „2 Willow Road Series“ 2003, eine Serie abstrakter Photographien. Diese wurden in der National Trust Bibliothek von Büchern über den Architekten Ernö Goldfinger und seiner Frau Ursula Blackwell aufgenommen. Die „Postscript Serie 2005“ dokumentiert eine kleine aber bemerkenswerte Sammlung von Briefen und Telegrammen (1937 – 1945). Diese Serie hat Model,Muse und Photographin Lee Miller verfasst während ihrer Tätigkeit als US Kriegskorrespondentin im zweiten Weltkrieg. Zur Verfassung bei trug auch der britische Surrealist Roland Penrose (1900-1984) vor seiner Heirat mit Miller 1947. Die Serie unter dem Titel About Faces kann als Ergänzung der Postscript-Serie gesehen werden, die auf inspirierende surrealistische Künstlerinnen aufmerksam machen möchte. Die Serie Hours of Devotion & Self Life Series , datiert auf 2007, ist das Ergebnis einer Archivarbeit in der Mitarbeiterbibliothek der Coutts Bank. Bailey liess sich für Hours of Devotion & Self Life Series  und von den Werken der Buchbinderin und Philanthropistin Angela Burdett-Coutts (1814-1906) inspieren. Die „Limited Time“ 2009 Serie wiederum setzt sich aus Palmen (eigentl. Fuji Instax Mini Polaroids), zusammen. Das Werk kann als kurzer Ausflug in ein anderes konzeptuelles Format betrachtet werden. Die Fotografin/Künstlerin kehrt mit einer weiteren Serie unter dem Titel „Modern Myths“ zu den gewohnten Sujets zurück. Dafür benutzte sie Zeitungen, welche stellvertretend für die visuelle Sprache zwischen Natur, Mensch, Krieg, Geld und Medienmacht stehen. 2012 erschien Baileys einzigartige photographische Textserie(vielleicht besser: Foto-Text-Serie?) Hermes Baby 2011, das im traditionellen Schwarz-Weiß-Film aufgenommen und anschliessend in der Dunkelkammer entwickelt worden ist. In der Serie werden die journalistischen Beiträgen der amerikanischen Journalisitn Marguerite Higgins (1920 – 1966), welche bei der New-Yorker-Zeitung  „The New York Herald Tribune“ für die Kriegskorrespondenz zuständig war.

Bailey kann auf Einzelausstellungen in Großbritannien, USA, Korea, Kanada und Deutschland zurückblicken. Ein breites Pressespektrum stellte bereits die Künstlerin vor: Portfolio, Art Forum, Hotshoe International, Eye, Guardian und Financial Times. Die Serie „Postscrip“ ist im Victoria&Albert Museum in London vertreten sowie in weiteren internationalen Sammlungen. Ihre Werke wurden auf Messen in London, Paris, Seoul, München, Toronto, New York, Miami und Los Angeles gezeigt.

Seit 2009 ist Veronica Botschafterin für die photographische Wohlfahrtsorganisation Photovoice und unterstützt regelmäßig weitere karikative Einrichtungen: Room to Read, Merlin, Laurence Sterne Trust, Cancer Research sowie LACE.

Exhibitions

9 Februar 201713 April 2017
25 Juni 20157 August 2015
29 November 20147 Februar 2015
6 Dezember 20138 Februar 2014
28 November 201325 Januar 2014
15 November 201218 November 2012

Selected Works